
SULLIVAN COUNTY 

HOMEOWNERS FIREWOOD PROGRAM 
 
 

Sullivan County Department of Natural Resources 

95 County Farm Road, Unity, NH 03743 

(603)542-4891       natural@sullivancountynh.gov 

Application for Firewood Permit 
This is an application for a firewood permit and does not serve as a permit itself. Anyone 

cutting firewood from lands owned by Sullivan County without an approved firewood 

permit may be prosecuted for timber theft. 

 

 

Applicant Name: Home Phone: Cell Phone: 

Address: Town: Zip: 

E-mail: 

 

 

Vehicle Information 
Applicant requests ___ cords of 

firewood at the rate of $25 per cord. 

 

Total due $ __________ 

Checks payable to Sullivan County, 

NH. Cash/credit cards not accepted. 

Vehicle #1 Vehicle #2 

Make Make 

Model Model 

Year Year 

Color Color 

License Plate License Plate 

 
 

My signature below affirms that I have read, understand and agree to all the terms listed on the back 

side of this application and the Release and Waiver of Liability. My signature further confirms that I am 

a resident or employee of Sullivan County.  

 
 
 

Applicant Signature Date 

 



Terms and Conditions 

This permit is subject to the following terms and conditions: 

1. Applicant is a resident or employee of Sullivan County.  

2. All harvested wood shall be for personal use only and may not be resold. 
 

3. Applicant agrees to release and hold Sullivan County harmless from any claim for damage 

or loss of property, personal injury or death. Applicant agrees that Applicant and anyone 

assisting or accompanying Applicant on County property shall sign the attached 

Homeowners Firewood Program Release and Waiver of Liability and return it to the 

Director of Natural Resources before engaging in any activities under this program. 

Participation and activities in relation to this program are solely at the individual’s own 

risk. 

4. Collection of firewood is permitted only from property owned by Sullivan County as 

designated by the permit. Permit is for trees to be removed from designated areas only. 

5. Permit is not transferable and must be in the Applicant’s possession while harvesting and 

transporting firewood. Copies are not allowed. 

6. Concurrent with firewood activities all slash and unused vegetation resulting from Applicant’s 

activities shall be removed from roads and ditches and scattered in the surrounding landscape. 

No slash will be left within 50 feet of any roads, brooks, trails or other developments. 

7. This sale is final and payments are not subject to refunds. 

8. The permit and activities hereunder are subject to all federal, state and local laws and 

regulations, including the Vermont Firewood Quarantine prohibiting the importation of 

untreated firewood from New Hampshire to Vermont without a written waiver. 

9. Motorized vehicles are not allowed off existing roads that are open to the public unless 

otherwise specified in this permit. Parking shall not block traffic or impede emergency 

vehicles. Sullivan County reserves the right to suspend travel on County property due to 

weather and ground/road conditions. 

10. Applicant agrees to remove all trash and litter resulting from Applicant’s activities. 

11. No firewood cutting is allowed during high fire danger days. It is the Applicant’s 

responsibility to know the local fire danger rating at the beginning of each day when 

harvesting firewood on county lands. 

12. Sullivan County will not be held liable and does not guarantee the quality or availability of 

wood in the permit areas. No refunds will be issued. 

13. Permits are valid only for the period indicated on the permit. A maximum of 1 permit per 

household per year is allowed. 

14. Regardless of whether firewood is removed, the permit will terminate at midnight of the 

termination date shown above or when quantity purchased is reached, whichever comes 

first. 

15. Firewood may only be harvested in daylight, between official sunrise and sunset hours. 


