Sullivan County, NH Seal Sullivan County, New Hampshire, USA New Hampshire State Seal
About Sullivan County

Sullivan County is located in the West Central area of New Hampshire and was named after Brigadier General John Sullivan (1740-1795), a Revolutionary War hero.  On July 5, 1827, Sullivan County came into being.  Prior to its founding, Sullivan County was part of Cheshire county.  The Town of Newport was chosen as the county seat as it remains to this day.

Sullivan County covers an area of 528 square miles and is home to fourteen towns (Acworth, Charlestown, Cornish, Croydon, Goshen, Grantham, Langdon, Lempster, Newport, Plainfield, Springfield, Sunapee, Unity, Washington) and one city (Claremont).

The estimated population of Sullivan County is 43,678 people as of 2016.

Sullivan County employs approximately 280 people.

General John Sullivan


Copyright © Sullivan County, New Hampshire. All Rights Reserved.
Design & Hosting by Functional Art Solutions