Sullivan County, NH Seal Sullivan County, New Hampshire, USA New Hampshire State Seal
  County Commissioners - Executive Branch



Jeffrey Barrette
C  (603) 477-4482

District 1:
Claremont and Cornish

2 Year Term
Term Ending: January 6, 2021

Bennie C. Nelson

District 2:
Croydon, Grantham,
Newport, Plainfield and Springfield

4 Year Term
Term Ending: January 6, 2021


George Hebert
H  (603) 381-9566

District 3:
Acworth, Charlestown, Goshen, Langdon,
Lempster, Sunapee, Unity and Washington

 4 Year Term
Term Ending: January 3, 2023


The Commissioners Role
The Executive Branch consists of three Commissioners with two commissioners elected every two years and the third commissioner every four years.  The Board of Commissioners duties are mandated by NH Statue RSA 28.  The Commissioners are part-time elected officials responsible for overall supervision of County Departments, buildings and land, and exercise budgetary oversight over all County expenditures.  The Commissioners meet the first and third Monday, of each month, with department heads to discuss old and new business.  The Commissioners submit, on a fiscal year (July 1st to June 30th), a budget to the County Delegation for approval.

The Board of Commissioners convene the first and third Monday of each month at 3:00 p.m.

Commissioners’ Meetings

July 2017 Goal Setting Report
April 2017 Goal Setting Report
December 2014 Goal Setting Report
February 2014 Goal Setting Report

Meetings are open to the public, excluding Executive Sessions (non public).

The first Monday meeting is held in Newport, NH in the Woodhull building, 14 Main Street, on the 1st Floor, Commissioners' Office Conference Room.
The third Monday meeting is held in Unity, NH at the Frank Smith Living Room.
View Meeting Minutes - Note: Minutes may also be attained through the Commissioners Office.

Commissioners Office

The Commissioners Office is located on Main Street in Newport, the County seat.  This office is the primary office for the Board of Commissioners, and currently employs three employees:  an Accounts Payable Clerk, an Administrative Assistant, and a Secretary/Receptionist.  The employees perform a number of duties, which include: coordinating meetings among officials and public, preparing budgetary reports for Department Heads and Auditors, accounts payable & receivable, monitoring grants as the fiscal agent and maintaining records for all County Offices.

Commissioners Office Contact Information
Postal address: Commissioners Office, 14 Main Street, Newport, New Hampshire 03773
Telephone: 603-863-2560
Fax: 603-863-9314



County Manager

Derek Ferland is the County Manager for Sullivan County and is responsible for fiscal and administrative oversight of County operations including Sullivan County Health Care, Department of Corrections, Human Resources, Natural Resources, and Facilities.  He works closely with County elected officials and regional programs such as the UNH Cooperative Extension and Greater Sullivan County Public Health Network.  The County's annual budget is $31.5M and there are 280 employees.  Prior to his current position, he spent 22 years as a civil engineer officer in the United States Air Force retiring as a Colonel in January 2017.

To contact the County Manager Derek Ferland:
(603) 863-2560
14 Main Street
Newport NH 03773


County Manager

Derek Ferland


Copyright © Sullivan County, New Hampshire. All Rights Reserved.
Design & Hosting by Functional Art Solutions